Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated : 17/3/2017 11:41 AM

Where we are today
The Wood-Based Industry in Malaysia comprises four major sub-sectors:-

Sawn timber, veneer and panel products which include plywood and other reconstituted panel products such as particleboard/chipboard/fibreboard, mouldings and builders' joinery and carpentry (BJC) such as doors/windows and its components panels and flooring board/parquet, and furniture and furniture components. The industry is predominantly owned by Malaysian and it is estimated that 80 - 90 per cent of the companies comprise small and medium-size (SME) establishments.

Most of the larger sawmills, veneer and plywood mills are located in Sabah and Sarawak. Mills in Sabah and Sarawak utilise tropical wood species for the production of sawn timber, veneer, plywood and other veneered panel products. More than 45 per cent of the plywood mills and 60 per cent of the mouldings mills are located in Sabah and Sarawak.

The downstream processing mills for the production of fibreboard, BJC as well as furniture and furniture components are mainly located in Peninsular Malaysia. These mills mainly utilise rubber wood which are sourced from sustainable plantations.

Malaysian furniture manufacturers produce a wide range of furniture from office, kitchen, bedroom, dining room, occasional, living room, upholstered furniture/sofa, outdoor and garden furniture. Furniture is made from not only wood, but also all types of materials such as rattan, metal, fabrics, plastic, glass, marble and other composite materials. The furniture manufacturers are located mainly in Johor, Selangor, Sarawak, Perak and Melaka.

Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Security Policy | RSS | Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid XHTML 1.0

Copyright © Malaysian Administrative Modernisation and Management Planning Unit (MAMPU) , 2012 All rights reserved.
DISCLAIMER: MAMPU shall not be liable for any loss or damage caused by the usage of any information obtained from this Website
Best viewed in 1024 x 768 using Internet Explorer 9.0 or Mozilla Firefox 11.0

Participating Corridors :